Set up users and roles

Site admin, shared space admin, or workspace admin permissions are required.

Roles are helpful for organizational management as well as security and data loss prevention.

A role in ALM Octane determines what actions a user may perform. Users cannot see or access areas for which they do not have permissions.

Roles and privilege inheritance

Within ALM Octane, roles inherit task privileges from other roles:

Back to top

What roles are available?

You can select from any of the following roles for users:

Role Description How to assign
On-premise: Site admin

The site admin configures the on-premise site-level settings in the Site Admin area.

These include: 

  • Manage ALM Octane servers

  • Add a user, without assigning roles or passwords

The site admin is created during installation. For details, see the ALM Octane Installation Guide.

Shared space admin

Shared space admins can access the shared space. The shared space admin works with the entire ALM Octane system.

Permissions include:

Shared space admins cannot enter specific workspaces unless they are assigned to them.

On-premise: At installation, ALM Octane assigns the shared space admin role to the user. The shared space admin password is also set at that time. This user is permanent, and the system creates it again if it is not found.

SaaS: When the first user logs in, ALM Octane assigns the shared space admin role to the user.

Workspace admin

Workspace admins have full access to the workspaces to which they are assigned.

Workspace admins can:

Shared space admins assign workspace admin roles in all workspaces.

DevOps admin

DevOps admins can manage CI servers and pipelines in ALM Octane, in their workspace.

DevOps admins can access the Settings area , but make changes only in the DevOps tab. This includes:

DevOps admins can also Populate your system with demo data related to CI server integration.

Shared space admins assign DevOps admin roles in all relevant workspaces.
SaaS: Synchronizer admin

Synchronizer admins can:

  • Access the Synchronizer Settings area.
  • Create and manage synchronizer links.
  • Schedule and run synchronizer tasks.
  • Monitor and troubleshoot synchronizer errors.
Shared space admins assign Synchronizer admin roles in all relevant workspaces.
Leader

Leaders can perform actions which enable them to manage projects, members, or workload.

Leaders can:

Leaders cannot access the Settings area.

Shared space admins assign leader roles in all workspaces.
Team member

Team members have the ability to work with and edit items that affect their work as part of the team.

Team members can:

Note: Delete permissions for these items are limited to items that the team member created.

  • View and filter information in the Pipelines module.

Team members cannot access the Settings area.

By default, ALM Octane assigns all users the team member role within the default workspace.

You can change this assignment when adding a new user.

Shared space admins assign team member roles in the other non-default workspaces.

Tester

Testers have less permissions in the system than team members. Their role is designed for testing purposes.

  • Testers can add, edit, and run tests, create defects from tests, assign covered content, and plan a regression suite.

    For details, see Testing.

  • Testers have full permissions in the Defect module, but can only delete their own defects.

  • Testers have View permissions in the Backlog, Team Backlog, Pipeline and Dashboard modules.

Testers cannot access the Settings area.

By default, ALM Octane assigns all users the team member role within the default workspace.

You can change this assignment when adding a new user.

Shared space admins assign team member roles in the other non-default workspaces.

Back to top

Add a user

Tip: Define workspaces before creating users and assigning roles. For details, see Manage spaces.

  1. In Settings , depending on your permissions, click Site Admin, Shared Space, or Workspaces.

  2. In the Users tab, click + .

  3. Provide user information.

    On-premise:  This includes a new password for the user. The admin or the user may change the password later. Passwords must be at least 8 characters long, and contain at least one capital letter, one lower case letter, and one number or symbol. For details, see Change another user's password.

  4. In the Shared Space area, shared space admins can select roles to assign to the user by workspace.

    To assign multiple roles, click Add role to assign.

  5. Click Add.

Back to top

Assign or remove additional roles

The shared space admin or workspace admin can assign more roles to existing users.

  1. In Settings , click Shared Space.

  2. In the Users tab, click a row to select a user. Shift-click to select additional users.

  3. Click Assign to Roles/Workspaces or Unassign from Roles/Workspaces.

  4. Select the roles and workspaces that you want to assign or remove.

    To add another role to the same user, click Add role to assign. You may assign multiple workspaces to a single user.

    To remove another role, click Add role to unassign and select a role to unassign and the workspaces from which to remove the role.

    Tip: When finished selecting workspaces, click outside of the drop-down list of workspaces.

  5. Click Assign or Unassign.

Note: To see all of a user's roles and workspaces, click the user ID. You may also assign or unassign roles and workspaces in this view.

Back to top

Map ALM Octane users to SCM users

If you set up ALM Octane to integrate with a Jenkins or Bamboo CI server that works with a Source Control Management (SCM) system, ALM Octane will track changes committed to SCM. For details, see Track changes committed to your Source Control Management system.

Identifying the users who commit SCM changes as ALM Octane users enables you to analyze the commit information using ALM Octane widgets, filters, and so on.

If the email address defined for an SCM user is identical to the one defined for an ALM Octane user, the users are mapped automatically when changes they commit are discovered.

Otherwise, you can map the users manually.

Tip: ALM Octane users can also map themselves to unmapped SCM users listed in Commits tabs. This does not require admin permissions. For details, see Use the Commits tab to track committed changes.

To map an ALM Octane user to an SCM user: 

  1. In Settings , click Shared Space.

  2. In the Users tab, click in the SCM users cell of a specific ALM Octane user.

    Do one of the following:

    • Select from the list of SCM users known to ALM Octane from previous commits.

    • Click Add New to add a new SCM user. Provide the SCM user's username and email address for identification.

Back to top

See also: