Create a synchronization link

Synchronizer admin permissions are required.

  1. Prerequisites: 

  2. Click the down arrow to the right of the Settings icon and select Synchronizer.

  3. Do one of the following to open the Add Link wizard.

    • To create your first link, click Create synchronization links.

      Caution: If the button is disabled and no Integration Bridge is installed, open a ticket on ALM Octane asking customer support to install and configure the bridge (Help > Send Us FeedbackOpen ticket).

    • For additional links, select a bridge on the left of the Link Configuration page and click Add Link.

      Tip: If the Synchronizer opens to the Dashboard and you see the Links summary, click to open the Link Configuration page.

  4. Use the wizard to configure your link, following the steps described below.

Define connection settings

  1. Define a name for your link, and an optional description.

  2. If you work with multiple workspaces, select the workspace you want to synchronize with ALM.

    If you do not see your workspace in the drop-down list, make sure you are defined as a Synchronizer Admin in this workspace. For details, see Define a Synchronizer Admin user.

  3. Select New ALM/QC Connection, and populate the following fields:

    Field Description
    ALM/QC Server URL

    URL to the ALM deployment that hosts the project you want to synchronize with.

    Use the following syntax:

    http(s)://<hostname>:<port>/qcbin
    Endpoint Display Name

    Identifies this connection to ALM.

    Credentials Display Name

    Select a predefined credentials record from the drop-down list.

    These records are defined by ALM Octane Support when they install your Integration Bridge.

    ALM credentials must be defined before creating a synchronization link.

    ALM/QC Domain
    ALM/QC Project

    The ALM domain and project you want to synchronize with.

    1. Click Authenticate next to the User Credentials Name field to retrieve values for these fields.
    2. Select the ALM domain and project names from the listed items.
  4. Click Check Connectivity and Continue.

Back to top

Set the rules that define which endpoint controls the synchronized entities

Select where you plan to manage your defects.

  • Select one of the following:

    Option Description
    ALM Octane

    Select this option to create defects in ALM Octane only.
    During synchronization, corresponding entities are created automatically on ALM.
    Updates made to existing entities in either endpoint are synchronized with the other endpoint.

    ALM

    Select this option to create defects in ALM only.
    During synchronization, corresponding entities are created automatically on ALM Octane.
    Updates made to existing entities in either endpoint are synchronized with the other endpoint.

    Both ALM Octane and ALM

    Select this option to create and update defects in both ALM Octane and ALM, for a full range of planning and testing functionality. Changes made in either endpoint are synchronized with the other endpoint.

    Note: Two options are available for managing entities in both endpoints. One sets ALM Octane as the dominant side, in case of conflicts, and the other sets ALM as the dominant side.

You can view the rules in more detail after you create the synchronization link, and adjust them if necessary, in the link configuration Rules tab.

Back to top

Optional: Select favorites

You can limit the synchronization to a subset of your ALM database by using ALM favorites.

Select favorites to use as filters for new items when synchronizing. For details, see Create ALM favorites.

No favorites are defined by default. This means that all records in the ALM Octane workspace or ALM project are synchronized.

Back to top

Next Steps

Click Next to complete the wizard, and then Finish to create the link. The new link appears in the navigation tree on the left of the Link Configuration page.

When you are finished creating your link, do the following:

Caution: If you create a link and then delete it, and you then create it again using the same conditions, any defects that were already synched will be duplicated (in either direction of synchronization).

See also: