Create ALM favorites

ALM Octane Synchronizer looks for new records in ALM based on the favorites configured for the link.

Items included in the selected favorite are synchronized with the other endpoint as newly created items. If no favorite is configured, all records are synchronized.

In ALM, the selected favorite can be a private or public favorite, but it must be available to the user whose credentials are used to connect to ALM. You can select from a maximum of 50 favorites for a specific ALM project.

It is recommended to use favorites, but not required.

Tip: Favorites are specifically useful when first configuring your link. Start by using a favorite that contains only one record, and expand it slowly. Run simulation synchronizations to verify that the synchronization works as you expect.

Remember to schedule a full synchronization each time you modify a favorite in order to synchronize the newly included records. For details, see Full synchronizations.

Caution:  

  • Once a record in one endpoint is mapped to a record in the other endpoint, these records continue to be synchronized even if they no longer match the link's favorite. Be sure that you want to synchronize data in a specific record or type of record before including it in your favorite.

You can select favorites to use for a synchronization when creating or editing the link.

Next steps: