Edit general link settings

Synchronizer admin permissions are required.

On the link configuration page, expand the nodes in the navigation tree and select the link you want to edit. In the General tab, modify settings and view general details about the link. How do I get to the Link Configuration page?

Click Edit Link to modify settings, and Save Link to save your changes.

Note: You must always run an integrity check after modifying a link's configuration. We also recommend running a simulation to prevent errors occurring in the actual synchronization.

For details, see Run synchronizations.

View or edit basic link details

Entity Type

Defines the type of entity being synchronized (defect).

Read-only.

Link Name

The name of the link. Used, for example, in the navigation tree on the left.

Description A free-text description field for the link.
Synchronization mode

Defines whether automatic synchronizations are running for this link. Change this mode by right-clicking the link name in the tree on the left, and selecting one of the following:

  • Start Automatic Mode
  • Stop Automatic Mode

Note: You cannot start automatic mode until you have run a successful integrity check, and saved your changes.

Back to top

View link status

The link status is indicated by an icon in the navigation tree. Additionally, see the following details on the General tab:

Last Sync.

Provides details about the most recent synchronization run, including the date, as well as if the run finished with errors or passed.

Click View report to view a summary of events that occurred during the run.

Link Status

Displays the link's current status, as well as a summary of any issues remaining from previous runs.

Link statuses reflect whether integrity checks have passed or not, and whether recent synchronizations have generated errors or warnings.

  • Hover over the Link Status details for information about the last integrity check and synchronization. From the tooltip, click View report for details about each item.
  • Click View in Dashboard for more details about issues remaining from previous runs.

For details and action items required for each status, see Link status reference.

Back to top

Check ALM connectivity

View the connection details for the configured endpoint. Click Check Connectivity to validate these details.

Back to top

View or modify synchronization favorites

View the favorites defined to limit your synchronization link to a subset of your ALM database.

You can switch favorites as needed. However, once a record in one endpoint is mapped to a record in the other endpoint, these records continue to be synchronized even if they no longer match the link's favorite.

Note: If you want to add, change, or delete favorites from the list of available favorites, do so in the Backlog or Defects module.

If you modify favorites after having run a successful synchronization, you will need to schedule a full synchronization for the next run. For details, see Full synchronizations.

For more details, see Create ALM favorites.

Back to top

See also: