Backlog planning buckets

When planning a release or a sprint for a team, you can use the planning buckets in the Backlog module for release and sprint planning. Planning buckets are widgets that represent your releases, sprints, and team. The widgets display the amount of work planned, compared to the release/sprint/team capacity.

Drag backlog items from the Features or Stories tabs into these buckets to assign the items to a release, sprint, and/or team. When you do this, the relevant Release, Sprint, or Team fields in the items are set.

After you assign features or stories to a release, sprint, or team, the planning bucket is refreshed to reflect the new contents. The bucket is refreshed also if you change the item's phase, story points, and so on.

A planning bucket is divided into release buckets, sprint buckets, and team buckets.

To view the buckets:

  1. In the Backlog, open the Planning pane on the right.

  2. Click the number of displayed releases to select the releases you want to plan. A release bucket is opened for each release you select.

  3. To view the sprint and team buckets, click the expand arrow beneath the release bucket.

What does the planning bucket display?

The planning bucket displays a number of details, including the current release or sprint scope, available capacity, and progress toward completion.

Hover over a part of the image to learn more.

Example:

  • In this image, you can see there is more available capacity in the release than there is in any of the teams. This is because you are looking at only one sprint. Some of the other sprints have additional available capacity.

  • In the image below, the release as a whole is overplanned, while none of the teams show any overplanning. This is because there are many story points assigned to this release, but not yet assigned to a team. These are counted in the No team progress bar.